Park House is quietly located in a wonderful elevated setting above the historic and highly sought after conservation village of Culross. The village is noted for its historic architecture and charming feel. Culross Abbey was founded in 1217 when …
Park House is quietly located in a wonderful elevated setting above the historic and highly sought after conservation village of Culross. The village is noted for its historic architecture and charming feel. Culross Abbey was founded in 1217 when the village was an important centre, with many of the historic buildings now under the ownership and care of The National Trust for Scotland. Culross is based on a 16th century village plan with many period buildings and original narrow streets and wynds. Buildings in the village include the 1597 palace which has been restored to its original rustic yellow render, its merkat cross and the 1625 town house which is now used as a National Trust for Scotland visitor centre. The village and area has featured in the TV drama ‘Outlander’. Modern day Culross offers many benefits for family living and is readily accessible to all the major towns of central Scotland. Commuting into Edinburgh has recently been enhanced with the opening of the Queensferry Crossing. The village provides a useful range of local services including a combination of convenience and tourism shops as well as a gallery. Nearby Dunfermline has a busy high street, an ancient abbey (burial place of Robert the Bruce), the Carnegie Hall, the Alhambra Theatre and local 76 acre Pittencrieff park known locally as ‘The Glen’. Culross has a good primary school and there is state secondary schooling in Dunfermline. A bus runs daily through Culross to Dollar Academy and there are several other highly regarded schools in Perthshire, Fife and Edinburgh. There are train stations at Inverkeithing, Alloa, Dunfermline and Falkirk. Access to Edinburgh can be via the Kincardine Bridge or the Queensferry Crossing, and there is a park and ride at Ferrytoll with regular buses into Edinburgh and north throughout Scotland. Edinburgh Airport is 21 miles away and provides an excellent range of international and domestic flights. The surrounding area offers a wide range of leisure and recreational opportunities from sailing on the river Forth, golfing on the local courses, fishing on nearby reservoirs and walking in the beautiful countryside.
Thought to date from around 1840 and category B listed, Park House is a 3-bay classical mansion which was constructed in Georgian times and subsequently extended by the Victorians. The handsome and imposing property was split into four flats circa 1975. Flat C is accessed by a communal hall and staircase, with the main door to the apartment at first floor level. The delightful refurbished period accommodation is arranged over two levels with the lower floor accommodation centred around the magnificent sitting room with open fire and bay window which benefits from wonderful views out over Culross, the river Forth and beyond. As currently configured, the lower level accommodation also comprises dining room and library, although both these rooms could be used as third and fourth bedrooms if required. The lovely kitchen, bathroom and hall complete the lower level accommodation. Upstairs the delightful principal bedroom benefits from walk-in wardrobe and en suite shower room, whilst the well-proportioned guest bedroom offers access to the wonderful roof balcony from which there are magnificent panoramic views. Completing the accommodation at this level is the utility room and hall.
Lower Floor: Sitting room, library/bedroom 3, dining room/bedroom 4, kitchen, bathroom, hall
First Floor: Principal bedroom with walk-in wardrobe and en suite shower room, guest bedroom with balcony, utility cupboard, hall
GARDEN AND GROUNDS
Park House stands in delightfully mature shared grounds extending to approximately 2 acres with extensive areas of lawn and many mature trees and shrubs. Access to the grounds is shared between the four apartments. Flat C also benefits from a garage.