Park House is quietly located in a wonderful elevated setting above the historic and highly sought-after conservation village of Culross. The village is noted for its historic architecture and charming feel. Culross Abbey was founded in 1217 when the …
Park House is quietly located in a wonderful elevated setting above the historic and highly sought-after conservation village of Culross. The village is noted for its historic architecture and charming feel. Culross Abbey was founded in 1217 when the village was an important centre, with many of the historic buildings now under the ownership and care of the National Trust for Scotland. Culross is based on a 16th century village plan with many period buildings and original narrow streets and wynds. Buildings in the village include the 1597 palace which has been restored to its original rustic yellow render, its merket cross and the 1625 town house which is now used as a National Trust for Scotland visitor centre. The village has featured in the TV drama “Outlander”. Modern day Culross offers many benefits for family living and is readily accessible to all the major towns of central Scotland. Commuting into Edinburgh has recently been enhanced with the opening of the new Queensferry Crossing. The village provides a useful range of local services including a combination of convenience and tourism shops as well as a gallery. Nearby Dunfermline has a busy high street, an ancient abbey (burial place of Robert the Bruce), The Carnegie Hall, The Alhambra Theatre and the seventy-six acre Pittencrieff Park locally known as The Glen.
Culross has a good primary school and there is state secondary schooling in Dunfermline. A bus runs daily through Culross to Dollar Academy and there are several other highly regarded schools in Perthshire, Fife and Edinburgh. There are train stations at Inverkeithing, Alloa, Dunfermline and Falkirk. Access to Edinburgh can be via either the Kincardine Bridge or the Queensferry Crossing and there is a Park ‘n Ride at Ferry Toll with regular buses into Edinburgh and north throughout Scotland. Edinburgh airport is 21 miles away and provides an excellent range of international and domestic flights. The surrounding area offers a wide range of leisure and recreational opportunities from sailing on the River Forth, golfing on the local courses, fishing on nearby reservoirs and walking in the beautiful countryside.
Thought to date from around 1840 and Category B Listed, Park House is a 3-bay classical mansion which was constructed in Georgian times and subsequently extended by the Victorians. The handsome and imposing property was split into four flats circa 1975. Flat D is accessed via a communal hall and staircase, with the main door to the apartment at first floor level. The delightful period accommodation is arranged over two levels with the lower floor accommodation centered around a lovely hallway. The main drawing room is particularly impressive whilst the sitting room benefits from a wood burning stove. Completing the lower level accommodation is the dining room/bedroom 4, charming kitchen, main bedroom and shower room. A staircase leads from the hall to the first floor accommodation with bedroom 2/study benefitting from a wonderful roof terrace with views out over the Firth of Forth and beyond. A further bedroom with utility room/ kitchenette off and bathroom completes the accommodation at this level.
Hall, drawing room, sitting room, kitchen, dining room/bedroom 4, main bedroom, shower room
Bedroom 2/study with roof viewing terrace, bedroom 3 with utility/kitchenette off, family bathroom
Park House stands in delightful mature grounds extending to approximately 2 acres. With extensive areas of lawn and many mature trees and shrubs access to the grounds is shared between the four apartments. Flat D also benefits from a garage.